Finish Line Effect

by Ben Perreira

I have finished* my MBA, I tell people. That is because I will not receive that piece of paper until I turn in my thesis. 

I have been working on my thesis (tentatively entitled “Mobile healthcare adoption strategy in the United States and Scandinavia”) with my team since last September. It has been a long process that has included several diversions in topics, frustrating meetings and an incredible trip to Scandinavia. We are set to present our findings in just over two weeks.

This morning I got the first taste of the “finish line effect” (partially aided by coffee) for this project. It is a sweet taste that comes from having gravity of the sense of near-completion draw you in. My fingers are almost done hammering away at my keyboard and the end is imminent. 

Next step: real world.

